Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia (Hardcover)

Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia Cover Image
By Lina Maslo, Lina Maslo (Illustrator)
$17.99
Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now

Description


A lyrical nonfiction picture book about the inspired life of C. S. Lewis, the beloved author of the Chronicles of Narnia—from Free as a Bird author-illustrator Lina Maslo. Perfect for fans of The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown and Some Writer!: The Story of E.B. WhiteThis nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It’s a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.

As a child, Clive Staples Lewis imagined many things . . .

heroic animals

and knights in armor

and a faraway land called Boxen.

He even thought of a new name for himself—at four years old, he decided he was more of a Jack.

As he grew up, though, Jack found that the real world was not as just as the one in his imagination. No magic could heal the sick or stop a war, and a bully’s words could pierce as sharply as a sword. So Jack withdrew into books and eventually became a well-known author for adults.

But he never forgot the epic tales of his boyhood, and one day a young girl’s question about an old family wardrobe inspired him to write a children’s story about a world hidden beyond its fur coats . . . a world of fauns and queens and a lion named Aslan. A world of battles between good and evil, where people learned courage and love and forgiveness.

A magical realm called Narnia.

And the books he would write about this kingdom would change his life and that of children the world over.

About the Author


Lina Maslo is the author and illustrator of Free as a Bird: The Story of Malala and Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia. She has a bachelor's degree in art from New College of Florida and resides in South Carolina with her husband and children. She can be found online at www.linamaslo.com.

Lina Maslo is the author and illustrator of Free as a Bird: The Story of Malala and Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia. She has a bachelor's degree in art from New College of Florida and resides in South Carolina with her husband and children. She can be found online at www.linamaslo.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062798565
ISBN-10: 0062798561
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: May 19th, 2020
Pages: 48
Language: English