Gloriana, Presente: A First Day of School Story (Hardcover)

Gloriana, Presente: A First Day of School Story By Alyssa Reynoso-Morris, Doris M. Rodríguez-Graber (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jul 15 5:45pm
(PICTURE BOOKS)

Description


Enter the classroom in this joyful story of growth that will help new students find their voice. With Spanish words throughout the text, this radiant picture book is perfect for fans of Mango, Abuela, and Me.
 
On the first day of elementary school, Abuela soothes Gloriana’s nerves by telling her stories from their family home in la República Dominicana. But as soon as Gloriana enters the classroom, the tropical scenery crumbles and la música is replaced with English phrases she does not understand. When other kids approach her to play at recess, she freezes, uncertain about how to exist between her two homes, or how to make new friends between her two languages. Abuela recognizes echoes of her own immigration journey on this challenging day at school, and she gently guides Gloriana towards newfound confidence. This beautifully painted, imaginative picture book celebrates the magic of existing in-between, and the transformative power of self-soothing to build confidence.

An essential read for fans of The Queen of Kindergarten.

 

About the Author


Alyssa Reynoso-Morris is an Afro-Latine Dominican and Puerto Rican author, mother, and community organizer. Alyssa was born and raised in the Bronx, New York, and currently lives in Philadelphia, PA with her partner and daughter. She has worked with community members, nonprofit organizations, and government officials to make the world a better place. She invites you to visit her online at alyssaauthor.com

Doris Rodriguez was born and raised in the Dominican Republic and is currently working in New York and Miami. She attended The Altos de Chavon School of Design and then earned a BFA from Parsons School of Design, and a Masters in Arts Education from Florida International University.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316366618
ISBN-10: 0316366617
Publisher: Christy Ottaviano Books
Publication Date: July 9th, 2024
Pages: 32
Language: English