A Midsummer Night's Scheme (A Bookbinding Mystery #2) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
A Midsummer Night's Scheme (A Bookbinding Mystery #2) By Harper Kincaid Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jul 12 6:06pm
(MYSTERY)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Bookbinding Mystery series.

Staff Reviews


The wait is over! Welcome back to Vienna, VA, a charming little town bursting with familiar haunts, lovable townspeople, and—another murder?! Quinn Caine and company are back, and this time, they’re solving the murder of a Broadway star, and the culprit has set their sights on Quinn’s brother, Bash! Tensions of every type are running high—familial, romantic, and murderous. Will our favorite bookbinder and friends solve the case in time? Fans of cozy mysteries and romance alike will feel right at home in Kincaid’s not-so-quiet hamlet. This sequel is not to be missed!

— Leah

Description


Perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Kate Carlisle, Harper Kincaid's second installment in the Bookbinding mysteries is sure to charm.
All the world's a stage, but it may be curtains for bookbinder Quinn Victoria Caine if she can't bring the lights down on an actor's killer .


Chad Hurt is Vienna, Virginia's Local Boy Made Good. Back in the day, Chad was mostly known for breaking female hearts, but now he's a big-time Broadway actor. Now, he's back in Vienna, onstage on the Town Green, to announce the glitzy new theater he's about to build in town. But after the announcement, as he gets in his car to leave, he's killed by a sackful of snakes someone's stashed in the back seat.

Chad's only mourner is his blue Burmese kitten, Cindy Clawford. She wanders into the quaint Prose & Scones bookshop and strikes up a friendship with the resident German shepherd, Ruff Barker Ginsburg. So RBG's dog-mom, bookbinder Quinn Victoria Caine, feels compelled to search for Chad's killer.

Blood and revenge are hammering in someone's head, but whose? Is the culprit one of the scores of women done wrong? Could it be Quinn's fireman brother, Bash, who was Chad's main competitor for town Lothario? When Bash becomes a target--black widow spiders tucked into his clothes--Quinn and RBG (with Cindy riding on his back) set aside their Hamlet-esque indecision and spring into action. But the only evidence is a scrap of paper bearing a vengeful Shakespeare quote. Can Quinn track down the one who seeks a pound of flesh, or will she face the sleep of death?

About the Author


Born in California and raised in South Florida, Harper Kincaid has moved around like a nomad with a bounty on her head ever since. After earning her master's degree in Gender History and another in Clinical/Macro Social Work, Kincaid decided to not to use either and become a writer instead.

Praise For…


Praise for A Midsummer Night’s Scheme:
“[A] lively sequel . . . Cozy fans will want to see more of Quinn.”
Publishers Weekly

“Interesting intersections differentiate this cozy series.”
Kirkus Reviews

“This cozy has it all.”
Booklist

“Kincaid provides some good clues and foreshadowing.”
New York Journal of Books

“Kincaid demonstrates a complete mastery of the cozy mystery genre.”
Midwest Book Review, audiobook review

“A great series to get lost in. “
Cozy Mystery Book Reviews

“Fun and fascinating . . . A worthy installment in this charming food-and-book-loving series.”
Kings River Life Magazine

“Fun, quirky characters, and an easy-to-follow plot.”
Red Carpet Crash 

Praise for To Kill A Mocking Girl:
“Smooth prose, realistic characters, a budding romance, and not too much silliness make this cozy a winner. Tantalizing recipes round out the volume.”
Publishers Weekly
 
“An interesting mashup of religions and their trappings sets this aside from other recipe-infused dog-companion cozies.”
Kirkus Reviews
 
“First in a new series from a romance writer, this engaging cozy blends romance, or at least the potential for it, with revenge.”
Booklist

“Cheers for a first-class mystery starring intriguing Quinn Caine, a protagonist with charm and character, and Ruff, her sidekick German shepherd. Sure to please.”
—Carolyn Hart, New York Times bestselling author of the Death on Demand mysteries
 
“Fresh and fun! Readers looking for a new small town cozy mystery series will feel right at home.”  
—Molly MacRae, national bestselling author of the Highland Bookshop mysteries
Product Details
ISBN: 9781643856308
ISBN-10: 1643856308
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: March 21st, 2023
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: A Bookbinding Mystery