Hollow Fires (Compact Disc)

Hollow Fires Cover Image
By Samira Ahmed, Amin El Gamal (Read by), Soneela Nankani (Read by)
$45.00
Backordered

May/June 2022 Kids Indie Next List


“I was immediately consumed with the power and uniqueness of this novel. A timely topic portrayed in profound writing, told from the viewpoint of a young boy who was killed and the young woman who found his body. This is truly beautiful.”
— Kappy Kling, HearthFire Books, Evergreen, CO

Description


A powerful, gripping YA novel about the insidious nature of racism, the terrible costs of unearthing hidden truths, and the undeniable power of hope, by New York Times bestselling author Samira Ahmed. Perfect for fans of Sadie and Dear Martin. Safiya Mirza dreams of becoming a journalist. And one thing she's learned as editor of her school newspaper is that a journalist's job is to find the facts and not let personal biases affect the story. But all that changes the day she finds the body of a murdered boy.Jawad Ali was fourteen years old when he built a cosplay jetpack that a teacher mistook for a bomb. A jetpack that got him arrested, labeled a terrorist--and eventually killed. But he's more than a dead body, and more than Bomb Boy. He was a person with a life worth remembering.Driven by Jawad's haunting voice guiding her throughout her investigation, Safiya seeks to tell the whole truth about the murdered boy and those who killed him because of their hate-based beliefs. This gripping and powerful book uses an innovative format and lyrical prose to expose the evil that exists in front of us, and the silent complicity of the privileged who create alternative facts to bend the truth to their liking.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781668615164
ISBN-10: 1668615169
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 10th, 2022
Language: English