Daughters of Olympus: A Novel (Paperback)

Daughters of Olympus: A Novel By Hannah Lynn Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jul 15 5:45pm
(Fiction)

Description


A daughter pulled between two worlds and a mother willing to destroy both to protect her...

Demeter: a goddess of life, living half of one.

Demeter did not always live in fear. Once, she loved the world and the humans who inhabited it. After an act of devastating violence, though, she hides herself away among the grasses and wildflowers. Her only solace is her daughter… 

Before she was Persephone, she was Core. 

Core is as bright as summer and devoted to her mother, even during their millennia in exile from Olympus. But she craves freedom. Naïve and determined, she secretly builds a life of her own—and as she does so, she catches the eye of a powerful god…

The daughters of Olympus will have the last word…

Then Hades kidnaps Core and renames her as Queen of the Underworld. In the land without sun, she realizes she may have a chance to gain back what she thought she'd lost forever. But Demeter will destroy anything—even the humans she holds so dear—to bring her daughter back. A mother who has lost everything and a daughter with more to gain than she ever realized, they will irrevocably shape the world: all in the name of something as human as love.

A lush, emotional read perfect for fans of Madeleine Miller and Claire Heywood, this is the story of Persephone and Demeter.

About the Author


Hannah Lynn lives in the UK with her husband, daughter and horde of cats. Her first historical novel, Athena's Child, was a 2020 Gold Medalist at the Independent Publishers Awards.

Praise For…


"A gripping exploration of love, loss, and the power of rage, Daughters of Olympus teems with the fervor of a mother, the devotion of a daughter, and the passion of lovers. Twining through these surprisingly human relationships, readers will discover a brew of gods intent on ownership and connection and, for some, growth. This story will keep you turning pages and leave you wanting more." — Malayna Evans, author of Neferura

"With vibrant prose and decadent world building, Daughters of Olympus is a magical feast for the senses. This stirring retelling peels back the layers of myth surrounding Demeter and Persephone to touch upon their most human core. It is a stunning testament to the destructive and healing power of love to move the very earth." — A.D. Rhine, author of Horses of Fire

"With her latest novel, Hannah Lynn demonstrates her deep knowledge of mythology and mastery of storytelling. Her rich, vivid details transport readers to an ancient world, one alive with danger and great magic. Although they are goddesses, both Demeter and Core/Persephone are still women, desperate to forge their own paths and make their own choices in a patriarchal world that stymies them at every turn. Daughters of Olympus is both a celebration of women, and a testament to the importance of perspective—the untold and underappreciated stories." — Lauren J.A. Bear, author of Medusa’s Sisters

"Hannah Lynn takes an old tale and makes it new with her brilliant retelling of Demeter and Persephone. A novel that is at once tender and rage-filled, this story delves deep into the complexities of the mother-daughter relationship in a beautifully rendered world of gods, monsters, and mortals. This is a book you’ll be thinking about long after you’ve finished the last page! A must-read." — Megan Barnard, author of Jezebel
Product Details
ISBN: 9781728284293
ISBN-10: 1728284295
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: July 9th, 2024
Pages: 448
Language: English