Welcome to Scrawl Books, Reston's New Indie Bookstore!

August 2018

  • 02/07/2018 - 6:00pm to 08/08/2018 - 6:00pm

    Join us every first Wednesday of the month to talk about what you're reading over a glass of wine with fellow book lovers.

  • 03/02/2018 - 11:00am to 12/21/2018 - 11:00am

    Join us for stories and fun every Friday at 11.

  • 08/01/2018 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm

    Help us celebrate another successful "Shop Local" scavenger hunt for Waldo throughout Reston! Everyone who found Waldo at participating local businesses in the Reston Town Center and turned in their completed game boards to Scrawl is eligible to win the GRAND PRIZE! The winner will be drawn at random during the party, but everyone is invited to come celebrate!

  • 08/01/2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm

    The Tasting Room Wine Bar

    Join us to discuss favorite books over a glass of wine at the Tasting Room in Reston Town Center.

    (Guests are asked to purchase their own food and beverages. Must be 21 to participate.)

  • 08/02/2018 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm

    In honor of National Watermelon Day, join us at Scrawl to learn the basics of watercolor techniques and make your own watermelon watercolor greeting cards. Participants will receive a practice journal, one brush, one set of watercolors, watercolor paper, and a set of cards and envelopes. Instruction will be provided by RCC teachers. The cost is $60 for Reston residents; $75 for non-residents. Space is limited. Click here sign up.

  • 08/10/2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm

    Join local author, Judy Politzer for a fun-filled lesson on the alphabet based on her book, Fractured Nursery Rhymes, Fairy Tales, and Potpourri.  Featuring new versions of favorite fairy tales and nursery rhymes, Politzer’s silly endings to traditional stories and verse will keep young audiences intrigued and giggling.

  • 08/11/2018 - 11:30am to 12:45pm

    The K9 Caring Angels, a non-profit group dedicated to helping the community by training Service, Therapy, and Comfort Canines will bring two highly affectionate, and caring dogs that share their loving paws and happy tails with people in need to Scrawl Books. Handlers will talk about how the animals are  prepared to serve and answer questions about the dogs. Author Maria Gianferrari will also read dog-related stories and give out small prizes. The event is free, but guests are asked to help support the organization through donations or by contributing the following items: 

    Pet Valu Perform Ultra Brown Rice and Lamb Puppy Food
    Outside toys
    Dog beds
    Blankets
    Shampoo
     
  • 08/15/2018 - 7:00pm to 8:15pm
    This progressive book club focuses on reading titles that cover timely political issues. Please read one or both of these for discussion of housing access and incarceration and how those issues are connected.
    Attendees are asked to read either Evicted by Matthew Desmond or The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Color-blindness by Michelle Alexander.
  • 08/17/2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm

    Join teacher Kesha Menefee from Winwood Children's Center for a special story time.

  • 08/19/2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm

    Fly Girls introduces a remarkable but, until recently, little-known group of women who answered their country's call in its time of need. At the height of World War II, the U.S. Army Airforce faced a serious shortage of skilled pilots and General Hap Arnold implemented the plans proposed by two outstanding women aviators who knew women could pilot planes as well as men. Eventually 1,102 women served as WASP, flying military aircraft of every kind to free male pilots for combat missions. Only in recent years, however, have they been fully appreciated. Their story is one of patriotism, persistence, love of flying, and the willingness to do good without personal gain.

     
  • 08/22/2018 - 9:00am to 10:30am
    The Intersection of Past and Present
    Join us for a Book Club focusing on biography, memoir and history. In August, the group will discuss Americans in Paris: Life and Death Under Nazi Occupation 1940-44.
  • 08/30/2018 - 7:00pm

    Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli,  We Regret to Inform You is a witty, heartfelt YA that puts the college admissions process into perspective. It’s Kaplan’s second novel and has already received two starred reviews, with Kirkus calling it “a well-written, intricately plotted, and sympathetic portrayal of the pressures that some elite college-bound kids experience during senior year."