Mika

Mika has worked at Scrawl since it was just a little pop-up by the Metro.  She's fashionable, well-read, and digs diverse fiction and poetry. 

Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
The Truth About White Lies Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780759554122
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 8th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Carefree Black Girls: A Celebration of Black Women in Popular Culture Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250231567
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - October 19th, 2021

My favorite read of 2021 that I've thought about long after I turned the last page. Blay's insight is razor sharp. Carefree Black Girls is essential reading.


Staff Pick Badge
Brown Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780593243428
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - January 4th, 2022

I devoured Brown Girls in one sitting. A heart-wrenching & spectacular love letter to women of color everywhere.


Staff Pick Badge
Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984820389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - March 2nd, 2021

This book opens ones eyes to history unspoken.


Staff Pick Badge
The Mismatch: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593357170
Availability: Available to Order. Arrives from Warehouse in 1-3 weeks.
Published: Dell - August 3rd, 2021

The Mismatch was an unexpected surprise in the best way possible!


Staff Pick Badge
Crying in H Mart: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525657743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - April 20th, 2021

You will be crying whereever you are reading Crying in Hmart.


Staff Pick Badge
Sulwe Cover Image
By Lupita Nyong'o, Vashti Harrison (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534425361
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 15th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
World of Wonders: In Praise of Fireflies, Whale Sharks, and Other Astonishments Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781571313652
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 8th, 2020

For fans of Braiding Sweetgrass and The Hidden Life of Trees, Nezhukumatathil's World of Wonders is simply magical!


Staff Pick Badge
This Is Major: Notes on Diana Ross, Dark Girls, and Being Dope Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062890597
Availability: Available to Order. Arrives from Warehouse in 1-3 weeks.
Published: Harper Perennial - June 30th, 2020

The Vanishing Half: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525536963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - February 1st, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Daisy Jones & The Six: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781524798642
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - February 4th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
Such a Fun Age Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525541912
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - April 20th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
The Diary of a Young Girl: The Definitive Edition Cover Image
By Anne Frank, Otto M. Frank (Editor), Mirjam Pressler (Editor), Susan Massotty (Translated by), Nadia Murad (Introduction by)
$14.00
ISBN: 9780385480338
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - February 1st, 1996

Staff Pick Badge
Best Wishes, Warmest Regards: The Story of Schitt's Creek Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9780762499502
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Black Dog & Leventhal - October 26th, 2021

If you're a fan of Schitt's Creek, you will love the journey this coffee table book takes you on!


Staff Pick Badge
Silk Vol. 1: Threats and Menaces Cover Image
By Maurene Goo, Takeshi Miyazawa (By (artist))
$15.99
ISBN: 9781302924393
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Marvel - November 23rd, 2021

For fans of Spider-Man, Silk is not one to miss in the Marvel Universe.


Staff Pick Badge
Yolk Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534446007
Availability: Available to Order. Arrives from Warehouse in 1-3 weeks.
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 2nd, 2021

A gut-wrenching story about sisterhood and generational trauma, Yolk is a novel that transcends its label of young adult. Mary H.K. Choi is a visonary writer beyond her time.


Staff Pick Badge
How to Deal: With Fear, Failure, and Other Daily Dreads Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9780316592482
Availability: Available to Order. Arrives from Warehouse in 1-3 weeks.
Published: Voracious - May 4th, 2021

How to Deal is a great gift for any millenial or gen z-er in your life!


Staff Pick Badge
Eyes That Kiss in the Corners Cover Image
By Joanna Ho, Dung Ho (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062915627
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - January 5th, 2021

I wish Eyes That Kiss in the Corners came out when I was a kid.


Staff Pick Badge
To All the Boys I've Loved Before Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781442426719
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - January 26th, 2016

Staff Pick Badge
Time to Roar Cover Image
By Olivia A. Cole, Jessica Gibson (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781547603701
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - September 1st, 2020

Time to Roar is a small but mighty tale that reminds us that our voices matter.


Staff Pick Badge
Madeline Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780670445806
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers -

Staff Pick Badge
Matilda Cover Image
By Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142410370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 16th, 2007

Matilda is one of the rare instances where the book and movie are equally excellent!


Staff Pick Badge
The Bell Jar Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780060837020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - August 2nd, 2005

A classic for a reason, I would have done all of my required reading in school if they were like Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar.


Staff Pick Badge
When Lola Visits Cover Image
By Michelle Sterling, Aaron Asis (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062972859
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 18th, 2021

As an immigrant kid, When Lola Visits speaks to the pure magic of seeing your grandparents.


Staff Pick Badge
Agents of Atlas: Pandemonium Cover Image
By Greg Pak (Text by), Nico Leon (Illustrator)
$15.99
Not available
ISBN: 9781302920111
Published: Marvel - February 18th, 2020

Agents of Atlas are the Asian-American heroes the MCU needs!!


Staff Pick Badge
War of the Realms: New Agents of Atlas Cover Image
By Greg Pak (Text by), Gang Hyuk Lim (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781302918774
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Marvel - September 17th, 2019

Agents of Atlas are the Asian-American heroes the MCU needs!!


How to Read a Book Cover Image
By Kwame Alexander, Melissa Sweet (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062307811
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - June 18th, 2019

Nina: A Story of Nina Simone Cover Image
By Traci N. Todd, Christian Robinson (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524737283
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

Sing with Me: The Story of Selena Quintanilla Cover Image
By Diana López, Teresa Martinez (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593110959
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - July 20th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Devotions: The Selected Poems of Mary Oliver Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780399563263
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - November 10th, 2020

Mary Oliver's poetry is like a warm hug on a cold, rainy day.


Staff Pick Badge
The Outsiders Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780142407332
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - April 20th, 2006

The Outsiders is simply golden.


Staff Pick Badge
Dragons Love Tacos Cover Image
By Adam Rubin, Daniel Salmieri (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780803736801
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - June 14th, 2012

Staff Pick Badge
13 Little Blue Envelopes Epic Reads Edition Cover Image
$10.00
ISBN: 9780063048201
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - December 15th, 2020

This started my wanderlust as a teen!


Staff Pick Badge
Tuck Everlasting Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780312369811
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - August 21st, 2007

One of the very best first pages- Tuck Everlasting hangs at the top of every reading list.


Staff Pick Badge
Everything, Everything Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780553496673
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - March 7th, 2017

Everything, Everything is 100,000x better than the movie by a long shot.